About the Riverina

Known as one of the most productive and diverse agricultural regions in the country because of its climate, changing landscapes and many irrigation schemes, the Riverina is a must-see destination for students and academics to government delegations and special interest groups.

The region's major cities are Wagga Wagga and Griffith, with larger towns including Deniliquin, Leeton, Narrandera, Junee, Cootamundra, West Wyalong and Temora – a showcase of contemporary rural Australia and the community spirit that defines the Riverina.

Fast facts on food and fibre production

  • The region is Australia's largest citrus-growing region. One-third of Australia’s citrus is grown in the Riverina and it's the largest orange juice production region in the country.
  • Australian rice is grown, milled, packed and branded in the Riverina by SunRice, which is the sole exporter of Australian rice products to world markets.
  • The region plays an important role in feeding Australians and the world. Each Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area (MIA) farmer is estimated to feed 600 people annually!
  • Cotton production is expanding in the region, increasing from 11,000 hectares in 2011 to over 32,000 hectares in 2014, and the forecast is around 35,000 hectares in 2015.
  • The region is Australia's largest producer of wine. The Riverina region grows 55 per cent of wine grapes in NSW and 15 per cent of the total grape production within Australia.
  • In the Riverina, walnut, almond and hazelnut orchards have become significant in recent years – and the growth looks set to continue with strong demand from the Asia Pacific.

Read more